Devotions – uncertainty 

It was my turn on the rotas to do devotions for both songsters (choir) and band last week, and thought I’d share them on here. Shares a tiny glimmer of where I’m at just now, and the holy and biblical parts are stuff I really do believe and hang on to. Well, I like to think I do. Sometimes. Or on good days at least. 
Uncertainty is something we all experience. It’s a natural part of life, but it’s something we generally don’t enjoy or like to deal with. I’ve just finished all uni exams and coursework and am now waiting on results and my degree classification. All being well, I should hopefully graduate next month with a decent degree in psychology; but where I’m going after that I have no clue. As much as I enjoy sitting in my pyjamas watching Grey’s Anatomy repeats all day, I’m reasonably sure that’s not a great long term goal, and finding a job or career or future studies would be a better plan. But for the moment, I don’t have any idea what direction I’m going in in that respect. Combine that with planning for a wedding and getting the keys to our first house this week, it’s clear that there’s a lot of excitement going on, but also change and uncertainty. Plus on a wider scale; general elections, brexit negotiations and general turmoil such as the incident in Manchester this week, signify a huge amount of uncertainty both nationally and globally. 

However, whilst we may have uncertainty in our country or in our individual lives, we can always have certainty in God and his love for us. In the Message translation of Isaiah 42v16, the Lord says, 

“I’ll take the hand of those who don’t know the way, who can’t see where they’re going. I’ll be a personal guide to them, directing them through unknown country. I’ll be right there to show them what roads to take, making sure hey don’t fall. These are things I’ll be doing for them – sticking with them, not leaving them for a minute.” 

While in Philippians 4v7, Paul writes that, 

“The peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guide your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

These verses remind us that regardless of uncertainty, our peace comes from the confidence that the Lord loved us and He is in control. He alone provides the comfort that settles our nerves, fills our minds with hope and allows us to relax even in the midst of changes and challenges. It will all be okay. 


— I did borrow the second last sentence from a devotional reading I came across online —



Leave a Reply

