Using time wisely

So I was supposed to be on devotions for youth band tonight, but I’ve got one of those annoying cold things going around and had a super sore head and ears and couldn’t make it. I did however send on what I’d prepared and someone else read it out for me. Anyway, I thought I’d share it on here, as who knows, someone might find it relevant 🙂 
So I’m currently in my final year of my psychology degree and I’m in the middle of doing my main project where I need to carry out research into a particular topic. I’ve chosen to do mine around Facebook, and the impact that has on wellbeing. (BTW If you’re over 18 and have a Facebook account, you can take part in my questionnaire!!) I’m looking at how people use Facebook, whether this changes for different personality types, and how Facebook use impacts self esteem and depression. Part of my questionnaire asks things like how long you spend on Facebook per day, how many friends you have on Facebook, and how often you post about different things. 

Looking into these things has made me realise just how much time I spend on social media – be it Facebook, twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, or a variety of others. On Saturday night the General kept mentioning that time is precious, and a combination of that and my uni project have made me very aware of how much time i spend on social media compared to how much time i consciously spend with God. How long can you last without checking Facebook or Instagram or Twitter? I know for me, it would be a lot less time than if you asked me how long I could and do go without reading the bible. And I’m sure I’m not the only one. 

Don’t get me wrong – social media can be great and among many other positives, we can actually share and learn a lot about God online. But let’s face it, a lot of the time we’re just procrastinating. Or I certainly am. Previous generations would have spent hours sitting on the phone to their friends, whereas we sit on Facebook messenger or text each other for hours..but in amongst those exchanges, how often do you talk about your faith or what God is doing in your life? Do you ever talk about praying for each other, or even together? It’s important that we talk to each other about our faith and how we’re doing spiritually, just as we would have a conversation about how we’re feeling physically. I know it can feel awkward, but it really shouldn’t. 

Everything we spend our time doing – be it using social media, watching tv or films, listening to music – it all has an impact on our lives. It influences how we spend our time, how we make decisions, and how we see both ourselves and others. All of this noise and information speaks so loudly into our lives that it actually shapes who we are. And often, we are not even aware that it’s happening. 

Colossians 3:2 says “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”

‭‭Basically, when there are so many things that can impact us, we need to make sure that the main thing we are being shaped by is God.
—side note: I wrote in my last post that I was going to write a ‘2017’ post and I haven’t got around to finishing it yet. It’ll come, but it’ll probably be a ‘new month’ post in February rather than ‘new year’ like I intended it!—

Leave a Reply

