Stop it

1. Stop spending time with the wrong people
2. Stop running from your problems
3. Stop lying to yourself
4. Stop putting your own needs on the back burner
5. Stop trying to be someone you’re not
6. Stop trying to hold onto the past
7. Stop being scared to make a mistake
8. Stop berating yourself for old mistake
9. Stop trying to buy happiness
10. Stop exclusively looking to others for happiness
11. Stop being idle
12. Stop thinking you’re not ready
13. Stop getting involved in relationships for the wrong reasons
14. Stop rejecting new relationships because old ones don’t work
15. Stop trying to compete against everyone else
16. Stop being jealous of others
17. Stop complaining and feeling sorry for yourself
18. Stop holding grudges
19. Stop letting others bring you down to their level
20. Stop wasting time explaining yourself to others
21. Stop doing the same things over and over without taking a break
22. Stop overlooking the beauty of the small moments
23. Stop trying to make things perfect
24. Stop following the path of least resistance
25. Stop acting like everything is fine if it isn’t
26. Stop blaming others for your troubles
27. Stop trying to be everything to everyone
28. Stop worrying so much
29. Stop focusing on what you don’t want to happen
30. Stop being ungrateful

I came across this list on Facebook tonight and i like it. It got me thinking. A lot of them are really just the same thing reworded, but it’s still worth considering some of it at least. I am extremely guilty of the vast majority of them to be honest, but in particular #5, #10 and #30.

Number 5 – Stop trying to be someone you’re not.
This is something I’ve struggled with for as long as I can remember. I spent the majority of my school years trying to be someone that really wasn’t me in order to fit in. I didn’t want to stand out from the crowd, and so changed my personality, appearance, behaviour in whatever ways were necessary at the time so that I wouldn’t stand out, because the real me didn’t seem to quite fit into place anywhere. And I’ve been doing the same ever since – uni, work, even church, and even around my friends sometimes. It’s just what I’ve always done. I’m not even entirely sure who the real ‘Roslyn’ actually is. And I’m certain I’m not the only person who feels like this sometimes. It’s sad really, and is definitely something I need to stop doing.

Number 10 – Stop exclusively looking to others for happiness
This relates to number 5 I guess, and goes with the self confidence thing a bit. It’s so easy to base your happiness around your good relationships (and conversely, your sadness around bad ones!) but that’s not the only thing that accounts for our happiness. We need to be happy with who we are before we can be happy with others. And there are so many amazing things in this world that we fail to notice that have the potential to make us so happy – sometimes it’s the small things that make all the difference!

Number 30 – Stop being ungrateful
I am one of the luckiest, most fortunate people I know (I don’t mean that to sound vain!!!!!!) – I have wonderful, loving parents who quite frankly devote their lives to keeping me safe and happy, and well looked after. I don’t want for anything, not in monetary terms or love. I have seen some amazing places in the world that many people won’t see in a lifetime, never mind before they’re 21!! My grandparents are brilliant, and I was lucky enough to know all four of them, for at least 12 years. I have a very cute, unbelievably generous, caring boyfriend who loves me for being the crazy, random girl that I am. And his family are brilliant too, I couldn’t ask for better ‘in-laws’. I have a group of friends who in their own different ways, are always there for me, and are great fun to be with. I have an education, and I’ve got a second shot at uni after it didn’t work out the last time. I have all of this and more, and yet I reckon I probably come across as a pretty selfish, ungrateful, relatively miserable girl.
I don’t mean to, but I moan way more than I should. I complain too much. I expect too much, and I get hurt easily. But I have no reason in the world not to be grateful. I have every reason to be grateful!! I’m often quiet, and I like my own space and own company, which can probably come across sometimes as sad and unhappy, but I’m not. I’m definitely not. I’m so grateful for everything and everyone I have in my life. So my (not New Years) resolution is to show how grateful I am!!

“be the type of person you’d want to meet”

“happiness is a form of courage”

Leave a Reply

