All of these li…

All of these lines across my face
tell you the story of who i am.
So many stories of where i’ve been,
and how i got to where i am.

But these stories don’t mean anything when you’ve got no one to tell them to
Its true, that i was made for you.

You see the smile that’s on my mouth,
it’s hiding the words that dont come out.
All of my friends who think that im blessed,
they dont know that my head is a mess.
No they dont know who i really am,
and they dont know what I’ve been through,
but you do, and i was made for you.

This quote is from a song called The Story, originally by Brandi Carlisle, however the version i’ve been listening to is by Sara Ramirez, after hearing it in the musical Grey’s Anatomy episode. I fell in love with the song in the episode, and have had it on repeat for days. I love the words of it. “All of these lines across my face tell you the story of who i am. So many stories of where i’ve been and how i got to where i am.” I think that sentence in itself is pretty special. (Also, imagine if people could literally see all of your stories just by the lines on your face, how cool/creepy/embarrassing/revealing would that be?!) I also love the sentence – “All of my friends who think that i’m blessed, they don’t know that my head is a mess.” – because frankly, it’s quite often true! 

I also like that the last line of “i was made for you” could refer to a boyfriend/girlfriend, just a friend, or actually, to God. 

All in all, i like the song, and the lyrics. 🙂

Leave a Reply

