be happy

So, i’ve currently got about ten minutes left of being a teenager, as tomorrow i turn 20. 20 whole years i’ll have been on this planet for. that seems a bit crazy to me. And to be honest, they’ve been a pretty great 20 years.

I’m so lucky

 – I’ve travelled a bit and been to some pretty amazing places. So many wonderful places in the USA – New York City, Washington DC, Las Vegas, Orlando, San Francisco, Los Angeles, beautiful Key West, and the Grand Canyon just to name a few. I’ve been to Mexico, Cyprus, Crete, Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Italy and France on some awesome summer holidays, and some crazy school trips around Germany, Holland, Belgium and Denmark. And of course, various trips around the UK and ROI. I’d say that’s quite a decent list of places for my first 20 years. Where will i go next?

 – I’ve had and still have some pretty amazing people in my life, and i’m grateful for the support and guidance from anybody and everybody who has bothered to care about me at any point. I was lucky enough to know all of my Grandparents, and though two of them are no longer here, i’m grateful for the influence they had on my life, and the way that’s helped me become the person I am today, 20 years on. And i continue to be grateful for the love and support of my two crazy grandparents who are most definitely still with me – life would be a lot duller without them!!!  I don’t forget how lucky I am to have two fantastic, generous, caring, bizarre, hilarious, loving parents. I am clearly a bit biased, but i think they’re pretty awesome (even if there are moments i think otherwise – but i am a teenager after all…;) ) I am also blessed to have some wonderful friends. They’re all quite different – dramatically different ages mainly (some of my closest friends range from about 13 to 34!!), but they are all unique and they all mean so much to me. Regardless of what i need, good or bad, support or just a good laugh, someone’s always there. And i’m so grateful for that. I like being an only child to a certain extent, but i’ve always longed for a brother or sister, and some of my closest friends at the minute really are like family. (it’s [almost] my birthday..i’m allowed to be cheesy!!!) I’m also very grateful for the cute, crazy, caring boyfriend i have – we wind each other up a lot, but he’s pretty perfect to me. 

–  There are so many other things over the past 20 years i’m grateful for  – school, uni, talents and abilities, experiences – good and bad, that have shaped me into who i am now. 

So 20 years into my life, and where am i? Well, i wrote a post the other day about where my life’s at, so i wont repeat myself, but basically, everything’s about to change. It’s all been pretty stable and regular for the past 6 months or so, but all of that is about to change. I move out of my parents’ house on Saturday and into my own wee studio flat for the next year, and i change from a regular Monday to Friday job to start uni, for the second time round. I’m so, so excited for the experience of living on my own, although i’m sure it’ll be a culture shock once the excitement wears off a bit! I’m also really excited to start uni, and learn about something i’m interested in – and to hopefully end up doing something that will make me happy. But i can’t lie – i’m terrified as well. I’m scared it wont work out again like the last time, and i don’t want to feel like i’ve failed again…it’s not a feeling i love. 

BUT i’m being positive about it. So excitement is what i’m sticking with, and i’m going with an avoidance tactic on the fear thing. I was chatting to one of my friends about it all today, and she said something that really helped. 

“You just need to take things as they come and see where they take you. And do you know what? If you don’t like it again, so what? There are no limits on the time you take to find out what makes you happy. The rest of your life is a long time, you deserve to find out what makes you happy. I know you like quotes, so Thomas Edison once said when talking about the light bulb – “I have not failed 1,000 times, i have successfully discovered 1000 ways NOT to make a light bulb.” And that’s also very true about life. Don’t regret anything. Everything in life is a learning curve.” 

And she’s right. And she’s not the only person to tell me that lately. Another friend said something similar recently too – about thinking of all the crap we go through or horrible situations we end up in as character building – and through dealing with it we can end up a better version of ourselves. 

So my plan for the next 20 years? I want to be doing something i enjoy, i want to be a good Christian, and a good friend. I want to travel, and see more of this awesome world God’s created. I’d like to think i could be a good influence on other people, and maybe make a difference. Even just to one person.

Basically? I want to be happy. That is all. 

“whatever you decide to do, make sure it makes you happy”

“Be the reason someone smiles today”

“train your mind to see the good in every situation”

Good things are going to happen”

Leave a Reply

