Live like that

“Sometimes I think
what will people say of me?
when I’m only just a memory,
when I’m home where my soul belongs.
Was I love when no one else would show up?
Was I Jesus to the least of us?
Was my worship more than just a song?

I want to live like that
and give it all I have.
So that everything I say and do points to you.
If love is who I am then this is where I stand.
Recklessly abandoned, never holding back..
I want to live like that!

Am I proof that you are who you say you are?
That grace can really change your heart,
Do I live like your love is true?
People pass, and even if they don’t know my name,
is there evidence that I’ve been changed?
When they see me, do they see you?!

I want to live like that
and give it all I have.
So that everything I say and do points to you.
If love is who I am then this is where I stand.
Recklessly abandoned, never holding back..
I want to live like that!

Is it just me, or is that a pretty powerful message? If you really think about those words and what they’re saying, and sing them like you truly mean them, then I certainly think they are.
I’ve had this song stuck in my head on repeat pretty much since I heard the Girls Chorus sing it last Friday morning. And now, nearly a week later, I love it even more. Because they carry a message that is indeed what I want to live like.

One thing that came up a few times at music school this year was about not just being a “1 day a week Christian”. It’s all too easy to acknowledge and worship God in church on a Sunday and to be the perfect Christian within those walls or at other church events. But in reality, it’s so much harder to keep that going in our day to day lives. It’s something that keeps going round in my head and I’ve been very conscious of it since I got home from camp. Someone made the comment in our cell group of, if you were to ask people in your work/college/uni/street/gym etc, would they be able to tell you we’re a Christian? And I have to say in my case, the answer would most probably be no!
I’m not saying I’m a horrible person the rest of the week, or even that I need to start giving Jesus-lectures to people in work or from the treadmill next to them at the gym (let’s face it, that’d be weird!!), but the way I act and treat people should reflect my Christian faith and my relationship with God. Shouldn’t it?
So I have to admit that in work for the past few days, I’ve been trying my best to show this through my actions and what I say to people. Whether that be through being extra kind and more helpful to customers, or not losing patience with them, to being more positive and appreciative of what I’ve got, rather than moaning about what we don’t have.
I’m starting to see that there’s not much point in hiding our faith and that side of us (although in theory it shouldn’t be a ‘side’..it should be our whole being?!), because otherwise, how are we going to witness and share God’s love with people that don’t quite know it’s there? And who actually, might really need to feel it in their lives. We can be the people to help them find it, and i think that’s pretty cool. Even if it’s simply through basic acts, like kindness.

There’s every chance that not much of that made sense, and there’s so much going on in my head right now that my thoughts are all a bit jumbled. But basically,

I WANT TO LIVE LIKE THAT!!!!

One thought on “Live like that

Leave a Reply

