Acceptance

I had a very productive bank holiday Monday and cleared out and tidied my room. In amongst a load of stuff, I found a wee folder I’ve got full of stuff from music schools and youth councils from over the past few years, with various different keep sakes and random things. (including confetti from a canon the boys fired in our room in the middle of the night!) I came across my wee post it notes of encouragement people had given me at the prayer concert thing from the past two years, and another set from cell group from two years ago. Reading through what people wrote and what they think of me, and being reminded of how much they mean to me actually made me pretty teary. (I’m just a big soppy thing really!)
A few in particular stood out –

“A friend accepts us as we are, yet helps us to be what we should”

Now I know I say this about a lot of quotes, but I like that. Because those true friends you have do love you despite all of your imperfections, and yet they help you straighten those wee issues out to make you be the best version of yourself you can possibly be. Which is pretty cool really, considering how easy it is to silently judge someone for the rougher bits of their personality.

The other one that got me blubbing was this:

My lovely Roslyn,
I love how no matter how little or much we talk we know that we will always still be there for each other. Never forget what a fabulous person you are and how much you mean to so many.

What more can I say? I love this girl dearly, and she’s seen every side of me. Shy, chatty, happy, upset, grumpy, funny, angry, caring…she’s seen it all. She’s probably one of the few people I’ve ever properly let myself be ‘me’ around, and yet crazily she still wants to be my friend (?!!) We can have laughing fits that last ages, or spend hours putting the world to rights. We don’t see each other nearly as much as we’d like to, (and to be honest, i was scared i was losing her recently), but like she said, we’re always there for each other when we need it. I love you, girl x

This post doesn’t particularly have a point, it was just something I felt like sharing. But I will finish it with this thought – never take those you love for granted!!! Things change, and you never know how long you’ve got with them. So tell them you love them.

Leave a Reply

