be yourself

“Just be yourself, there is no one better”

“It doesn’t make sense to call ourselves ugly, because we don’t really see ourselves.
We don’t watch ourselves sleeping in bed curled up and silent, chests rising and falling with our own rhythm.
We don’t see ourselves reading a book, eyes fluttering and glowing.
You don’t see yourself looking at someone with care and love inside your heart.
There’s no mirror in your way when laughing and smiling and happiness is leaking out of you.
Because you would know exactly how bright and beautiful you are if you saw yourself in the moments that make you truly beautiful.

I have no idea who originally came up with that quote, but i found it online and it’s been reblogged a few times, and i love it. I already put it in a previous post full of quotes, but I thought it deserved a post of it’s own.

Just as it says, it really doesn’t make sense to judge ourselves, because indeed we often can’t see all those little details that make us the people we are. I find it way to easy to compare myself to other people, on so many different things.

For a start, on looks. As someone with irritatingly bushy, uncooperative hair, I’m constantly comparing myself to other people. Both to my friends and to people I don’t even know. It’s always the days I think mine is a worse riot than usual that everyone else I see – be it family and friends, customers at work, or just random people in the train station – is having a better hair day than I am.

Secondly, on talents. Be it academic, musically, even driving skills, I can’t help but compare my abilities to that of others. Someone’s smarter, cleverer, better cornet/piano/guitar player/singer, better driver, better at parking, better at cooking, better at communicating, better friend.

It’s just too easy to put yourself down by belittling yourself in comparison to others. Or I think it is. I’m not very confident in the first place, so doing this all the time doesn’t exactly help. Thing is, it’s so so easy to say something you don’t like about yourself. To name something you think makes you ugly or less important than others. Something that you’re not good at. But when asked what you like about yourself? That’s a whole different story. When you’re doing those silly team building things and you need to say something you like about yourself, I never know what to say. We were asked it at music school last year in relation to our appearances, and I came up with nothing. It sounds depressive, but I genuinely couldn’t think of anything I particularly liked about how I looked. And the same goes for personality and skills.

It’s so much harder to see our best skills, traits, and what makes us really beautiful. I really don’t know what mine are.. (and actually I’d be intrigued to hear what people thought….so if you want to please share!!!), and yet Matt for example can rhyme off a list of things he loves about me…most of which I’d never have thought of or said myself.

We don’t notice those little things that make us special, but it’d be cool if just for one day we could see ourselves how others see us. Good and bad. If nothing else, it’d certainly be eye opening!

“Make the most of yourself – for that is all there is of you.”

Leave a Reply

