make yourself proud..

So on holiday last month I bought some more little card things that have quotes and inspirational sayings on them to go with the others waiting to go up on my wall.

“You are more powerful than you think.”De La Vega

“Life is like a box of chocolates … you never know what you’re gonna get.”Forrest Gump

“Life is a journey not a destination.”Souza

“I don’t know if we each have a destiny or if we’re all just floatin’ around, accidental – like on a breeze”Forrest Gump

“Be the change you wish to see in the world…”Gandhi

“Make yourself proud.”Peter W Smith

It’s pretty evident that things don’t always go the way you’ve planned. (John Lennon’s “Life it happens when you’re busy making plans” quote comes to mind…) Sometimes it changes direction for the better, and sometimes for the worse. Personally, I find it more than easy to see only the negatives when it does go wrong, but I know I shouldn’t. Just because a part of your life hasn’t gone the way you wanted or expected doesn’t mean you can’t turn it into something equally wonderful, if not even better than you’d planned in the first place. Or so I’d like to think.

I start a new degree at a different university in September, and quite frankly I’m a wee but terrified. After I realised the last one just wasn’t for me, I was pretty lost. I didn’t know what to do now that my original (and only) plan had failed. And I’m more than scared that the same thing could happen again. (cos lets face it, it could!) But, I’m determined to use my experience from the last time round to make this time far far better, and to make sure I actually enjoy what I’m doing, and enjoy life, instead of dreading it. My confidence is much higher, and I (think) I’m ready for this next step.

I’ve realised lately that sometimes all you need is encouragement and the belief and confidence that you can do something, in order to achieve it. Now i know that won’t always work, but it can certainly be a nudge in the right direction even if you still need to put in a tonne of hard work along with it.

I spent so much money in a gorgeous little shop in California that I got a free notepad, and it happens to have a bundle of quotes dotted throughout it, and I think they sum up this post quite nicely.

Follow your heart.
Do what you love.
Create positive change.
Enjoy simple pleasures.
Give thanks.
Live with intention.
Make the world better.

make yourself proud

20130703-233155.jpge

Leave a Reply

