strength

“those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind!”

It’a weird how one tiny thing could mean so much to one person, and barely anything to another….

I always find it really awkward when someone gets upset, generally because I never know what to do, and I’ve always thought myself to be somewhat lacking in the social skills needed to deal with that kind of situation. But actually, I proved otherwise to myself a few days ago…

A friend was upset… I’d seen them leave the room and I could quite easily have left them to go sort themselves out, but for some reason I knew I needed to go after them. All I had to do was give them a hug (and for the record, I’ve been told my hugs are pretty decent, lol!) and some quick reassurance, but even that’s never easy for me. (I’m always scared I’ll do or say something to embarrass myself or that they’ll judge me…silly I know!!)
But, lo and behold, I managed it. Now, anyone who’s actually bothered to read this will most probably be thinking right about now that I’m pretty pathetic, and maybe they’re right. Thing is, I was actually a little bit proud of myself. It quite possibly didn’t mean all that much to the friend in question, but it actually made my day…and I’ve been silently smiling all week because of it!

I don’t even know if anything I wrote there makes any sense, and I know it is probably of no interest to anyone at all, but I just felt like writing it down. Mainly because it reminded me that I am more than capable of being the person I want to be. It’s all too easy to let other people’s and your own views of who and what you are get in the way of who you truly are and can be.

And sometimes in life, no matter how big or small, important or menial the situation/decision/choice may be, you just need to go for it… it can pay off!!!

“be yourself – not your idea of what you think someone else’s idea of yourself should be.” Thoreau

Leave a Reply

