happy days

“When the future looked hopeless and I’d given up,
when I had lost sight of my dreams.
Somebody near, dried every tear,
Somebody prayed for me

This is a verse of a song sung by choirs in the Salvation Army that I really like. I first heard it when it was sung at my Grandpa’s funeral in 2006 (to think I wasn’t even in the army then seems crazy compared to where I am now!), and for obvious reasons the song is particularly special to me.

The song in general speaks of times when you’ve been struggling, and someone else has prayed to God for you, when you’ve found it too hard to do so yourself. I particularly like the verse I’ve quoted above, because I can really relate to it.

Last year at music school, I admitted (both to others and myself) just how much I hated what I was doing with my life. I hated uni and the course I was doing, but had no idea what else to do. I really had ‘lost sight of my dreams’. But throughout the course of that week, I fretted about it, I did indeed cry about it, and I spoke to people about it. During the final cell group meeting of the week, and ‘the greeting meeting’, i chatted to people and spoke about how miserable I was and how much I was despairing over what to do. I was comforted, reassured and given advice, and several people said they’d pray for me.

Now, this might just be me being sceptical, but often when you hear someone say ‘I’m praying for you’, I tend to think ‘yeah right…like you’ll actually do it!’ Like I said, maybe I’m just being harsh, but I do tend to doubt that they’ll stick to their word.

Now, I’ll never know for sure if anyone did actually pray for me that week unless they tell me… I’d certainly like to hope they did, but I really think at least someone must have. Because to be honest, God has answered those prayers!! I’m no longer lost and confused about what to do, and I’m actually excited (all be it terrified) to start my psychology degree in September!

I can’t think of anything more reassuring than knowing that even if you’re struggling too much to do it yourself, someone else might just be saying that little prayer for you that will make all the difference.

happy days

Leave a Reply

