For Good

“I’ve heard it said that people come into our lives for a reason, bringing something we must learn.. And we are led to those who help us most to grow, if we let them and we help them in return. Well I don’t know if I believe that’s true, but I know I’m who I am today because I knew you”

……

It well may be that we may never meet again in this life time so let me say before we part; so much of me is made from what I learned from you, you’ll be with me like a hand print on my heart. And now whatever way our stories end I know you have rewritten mine by being my friend.

……

Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better? But because I knew you I have been changed for good.

Written above are various parts of my favourite song from my (joint) favourite musical, Wicked. The song is called For Good, in which the soon to be wicked witch says goodbye to her best friend, and they thank each other for the impacts they’ve had on their lives.

I love the image the song paints of people in your life changing you for the (hopefully) better, and I also love the fact that they’re not scared to say how they actually feel. All too often we don’t tell the people we love just how much they mean to us, either because it’s just not what you do, or for fear of being judged, and to be honest I hate that! I think it’s a shame that we don’t do it more, and sometimes it can be exactly what someone needs to hear! I actually love telling someone how awesome I think they are and how much of an impact they have on my life, and as vain as it sounds, it’s quite a nice feeling to have someone tell you that you actually matter to them! But like I said, all too often I don’t say a word incase they think I’m weird or whatever, or if I do, it’s usually preceded or followed by something along the lines of “this might sound weird” or “sorry for being cheesy”.

But you know something? What’s the point of being scared of what people will think of you all the time? It’s so much easier said than done not to fear being judged, I know that all too well, but sometimes you’ve just got to man up and go for it!
And who knows, you might even wake up to a message from me, telling you how awesome you are!!!

love changes everything.

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the biggest accomplishment.” Ralph Emerson

Leave a Reply

