Where are you now?

“To the ones I loved
But didn’t show it enough
Where are you now?

Where are you now?
Cause I’m thinking of you
You showed me how
How to live like I do
If it wasn’t for you
I would never be who I am

I know we’ll never see those days again
And things will never be that way again
But that’s just how it goes
People change but I know I won’t forget you

To the ones who cared
And who were there from the start
To the love that left
And took a piece of my heart
To the few who’d swear
I’d never go anywhere
Where are you now?

Where are you now?
Cause I’m thinking of you
You showed me how
How to live like I do
If it wasn’t for you
I would never be who I am
If it wasn’t for you
I would never be who I am
If it wasn’t for you I’d be nothing
Where are you now?”

Where are you now? – Honor Society

The lyrics above are part of a song i bought on itunes a few years ago after hearing it in a film, and it popped up on shuffle on my iPod this morning. It got me thinking, or rather reminiscing, about school, old friends… the sort of stuff the song mentions, and made me wonder, where are they now? I kept in touch with very few people from school (accidentally, on purpose?) however there are a few people who meant a lot to me and i miss them, and would love to still have them in my life. And as the song says “If it wasn’t for you I would never be who I am”

BUT everything happens for a reason, right? Or so i’d like to believe. And thinking of old friends got me to thinking of current friendships, and how there are several i would never have imagined developing. Back when you were in school, or in my case anyway, I was friends with people my own age, and maybe a year either side. But now, some of (and in fact the majority of) my best friends are nowhere near my own age. I would never have imagined that some of my best and closest friends would be up to 7, or even 10 years older than me, and the same in the other direction, with some being up to 6 years younger. In school this would have seemed strange, but now it’s not even an object of concern. Take me back 6 years or so and i would have laughed in your face if you told me i’d be friends at all with the people I am now, never mind best/close friends. 

I’d like to think i’ve grown up since then, and have grown into myself a bit more. I’m more confident than i was..okay so i’m still pretty shy, but i’m waaay better than i was!!! I always remember someone saying to me when i turned up at my first sally army music school that i looked terrified (which i was!), and I was so quiet that this same person had pretty much never heard me speak until about a year ago – and now she’s a really good friend!!. It’s strange how things happen in ways you don’t expect them to, but it’s completely true that the people in my life have shaped me into who I am today, and i’m more than grateful for that.

“You showed me how
 How to live like I do
 If it wasn’t for you
 I would never be who I am”

I firmly believe that everything happens for a reason (relating to yesterday’s post, is this because God makes it this way?), but i seriously wish I knew what those reasons were a lot of the time!!!!

everything happens for a reason

Leave a Reply

