Quiet

I bought a new book on my Kindle earlier on, called “Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that can’t stop talking.”
It is different to that of the fiction i normally read, but i saw it on the Kindle charts about a week ago and again in a bookshop at the weekend, and something about it made me decide to give it ago.
So far I’ve only read the preface (I’m heading to bed and my brain’s starting to go to sleep!!), but already I’m glad I bought it. In the book, the author (who by the look of things has fairly done her research!!), looks at the differences between ‘introverts’ and ‘extroverts’, and the way ourselves and society view these personality traits. It also looks at the differences between introverted and shy, and the obstacles both these traits can hold.
It’s fair to say this book wouldn’t exactly be everyone’s cup of tea. But as a soon to be psychology student, as well as a quiet natured girl (or introvert? we’ll see if the shoe fits by the time I’ve read the whole book), I’m intrigued to see what the author comes up with, as well as what I will relate to.

I’ll leave you with a quote from the Intro, describing introverts, and quite frankly, I think it describes me pretty well!!

“Introverts, in contrast, may have strong social skills and enjoy parties and business meetings, but after a while wish they were home in their pyjamas. They prefer to devote their social energies to close friends, colleagues, and family. They listen more than they talk, think before they speak, and often feel as if they express themselves better in writing than in conversation. They tend to dislike conflict. Many have a horror of small talk, but enjoy deep discussions. A few things introverts are not: The word introvert is not a synonym for hermit.” Susan Cain

Now it doesn’t exactly describe me word for word (my social skills are somewhat lacking!!) but the line I put in bold sums me up perfectly, and I do indeed hate small talk! So I am indeed looking forward to seeing what the rest of the book holds, and no doubt I will have more posts based on it soon.

“some things are best left unsaid”

Leave a Reply

