Dreams

I received a book for Christmas written by comedian Miranda Hart, entitled “Is it just me?” It’s an autobiography of sorts, but is more just her musings on the trials and more challenging aspects of life in a comic, laugh-at-yourself kind of way. The big and little things, that we (unfortunately) don’t receive a manual for. Full of anecdotes and interjected with conversation between her 38 and 18 year old selves. I found it hilarious, and genuinely laughed out loud on many occasions. But alongside the hilarity there is a sincere, endearing side to what she writes, about accepting and loving who you really are, and about following your dreams. Oh and about embracing your inner child every once in a while. It can’t do any harm can it? I’ve picked out a bit from the last chapter that I love, though no doubt I’ll quote from it again. And if you haven’t read it, I’d certainly recommend it!

“If there’s something you want to do, and you have any kind of basic skill or talent in that direction, please please please…..do it. Begin. I feel this is the only advice i’m qualified to give – GO FOR IT. Keep plugging away.”
“I hope your dreams have come or will come true. or you feel inspired to down tools on what you wrongly thought was making you happy and follow the real dream”
Miranda Hart

What better advice can you be after? I know it’s not always very straightforward, but taking that advice could certainly be a great starting place…..

“what would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?

Leave a Reply

