Lean on me

I had my iPod on shuffle in the car today (which if you knew how eclectic my taste in music is, you’d know risky that can be!), and two different versions of the following song, “Lean on Me” came on in the space of 10 mins.

“Sometimes in our lives
We all have pain, we all have sorrow
But if we are wise
We know that there’s always tomorrow

Lean on me when you’re not strong
And I’ll be your friend, I’ll help you carry on
For it won’t be long
‘Til I’m gonna need somebody to lean on

Please, swallow your pride
If I have things you need to borrow
For no one can fill those of your needs
That you won’t let show

You just call on me, brother, when you need a hand
We all need somebody to lean on
I just might have a problem that you’ll understand
We all need somebody to lean on

Lean on me when you’re not strong
And I’ll be your friend, I’ll help you carry on
For it won’t be long
‘Til I’m gonna need somebody to lean on

You just call on me, brother, when you need a hand
We all need somebody to lean on
I just might have a problem that you’ll understand
We all need somebody to lean on”

Listening to it twice (though I can’t lie..I was singing along pretty loudly..) made me stop and listen to what the lyrics were really saying, and I came to the conclusion that i like it. I particularly like the verse: Please, swallow your pride if I have things you need to borrow, for no one can fill those of your needs that you won’t let show.
Cos basically it’s telling you not to suffer in silence. Which i know fine well is often all to easy to do, because I do it myself all the time. But it’s generally pretty evident that it’s better not to be on your own to deal with things…a problem shared and all that?

I really hope there are people who know they can ‘lean on me’..because as it says, it won’t be long til I’ll need someone to lean on too.

No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another. Charles Dickens

Leave a Reply

